We are pleased to present the winners of the Photo NightScape Awards 2017. This new edition has once again seen the most beautiful nocturnal landscapes and timelapses of the whole world confront eachother. "There was this summer a single date and a single place on earth where we could see both partial eclipse of the moon, a conjunction Moon - Saturn, showers of stars, aurora borealis to name but a few phenomena ... it was the 19th of August," said the president of the Jury, Guillaume Cuvillier of Nikon (Miguel Claro Astrophotography of the Reserva DARK SKY Alqueva having had a problem of internet connection from the USA).

We would like to thank all the photographers who have participated and offered images of a constant renewed quality.

This international prize for the photography of nightscapes could not exist without its partners to whom we extend a heartfelt thank you.

We do not forget all the members of the jury, Guillaume Cuvillier Nikon, Lars Lindberg Christensen ESO Astronomy, Michel Vaissaud Picto, Nicolas Outters Astro Images Processing A.I.P, Olivier Las Vergnas Association Française d'Astronomie, Rogelio Bernal Andreo, Eric Karsenty Fisheye Magazine, Corinne Thorillon Paris Match.

You can come and admire a retrospective of the first 4 editions of the PNA from 16 September to 15 October 2017 at the Base sous-marine de Bordeaux and then from 16 to 19 November 2017 at the festival #NightScapades, whose first edition is sponsored by the Festival Photo Montier.


Guillaume Cuvillier, president of PNA 2017 jury

This summer there was only one date and one place on earth where one could see both a partial eclipse of the moon, a conjunction Moon - Saturn, rain of stars, aurora borealis to name but a few phenomenon known to the neophyte that I am in astronomy. It was on August 19th in the premises of Chasseurs de Nuit, near Paris, for the jury of the PNA. I was lucky enough to be invited to this feast of images - nearly 300 pictures - coming from some forty countries. This is to say the richness of the proposals that our jury was able to admire, from the point of view of the variety of celestial phenomena as well as technical feats in terms of shooting or the creative talent of the authors because yes, astronomy is also an art that reinvents itself to infinity.

The task was therefore difficult, and this jury job is hard! Difficult not to think, for each shot cast away from our selection, of the amount of preparation, time spent behind the camera and in front of the computer screen, of all this energy invested to produce an original shot. I would like to congratulate and thank each of the participants for this magnificent image production! The disappointed ones of today will, in persevering, be the winners of tomorrow! And congratulations to the winners whose images and time-lapses managed to seduce a jury where reigned a relaxed and constructive atmosphere until the selection of finalists, and who awarded the prizes by a democratic vote. We now have an appointment on September 22nd at 7pm at the Submarine Base in Bordeaux to share with you the most beautiful images of this fourth edition of the Photo NightScape Awards and spoil its winners. A nice evening in perspective of which, you can be sure, you will leave with eyes full of stars!

                                                                                                                                                                           Guillaume Cuvillier

                                                                                                                                                                           Nikon Pro - France

Nous sommes heureux de vous présenter les gagnants du Photo NightScape Awards 2017. Cette nouvelle édition a une fois de plus vu les plus beaux paysages nocturnes et timelapses du monde entier s’affronter. « Il y avait cet été une seule date et un seul endroit sur terre ou l'on pouvait voir à la fois éclipse partielle de lune, conjonction Lune - Saturne, pluie d'étoiles, aurores boréales pour ne citer que quelques phénomènes… c’était le 19 août dernier », comme le dit le président du Jury de cette année, Guillaume Cuvillier de Nikon (Miguel Claro Astrophotography de la Reserva DARK SKY Alqueva, ayant eu un problème de connexion internet depuis les USA). 

Nous tenons à remercier tous les photographes qui ont participé en proposant des images d’une qualité sans cesse renouvelée. 

Ce prix international de la photographie de paysages nocturnes ne pourrait exister sans ses partenaires à que nous remercions tout particulièrement. 

Nous n’oublions pas non plus l’ensemble des membres du jury, Guillaume Cuvillier Nikon, Lars Lindberg Christensen ESO Astronomy, Michel Vaissaud Picto, Nicolas Outters Astro Images Processing A.I.P, Olivier Las Vergnas Association Française d'Astronomie, Rogelio Bernal Andreo, Eric Karsenty Fisheye Magazine, Corinne Thorillon Paris Match. 

Vous pourrez venir admirer une rétrospective des 4 premières éditions du PNA du 16 septembre au 15 octobre 2017 à la Base sous-marine de Bordeaux, puis du 16 au 19 novembre 2017 au festival #NightScapades, dont la première édition est parrainée par le Festival Photo Montier.


Vous pouvez vous offrir des tirages photo des vainqueurs du PNA 2017 en vous rendant sur Gallery Astro. Pour les gagnants des années précédentes merci de nous envoyer un email : pna@photonightscapeawads.com


Mot de Guillaume Cuvillier - Président du Jury du PNA 2017

Il y avait cet été une seule date et un seul endroit sur terre ou l'on pouvait voir à la fois éclipse partielle de lune, conjonction Lune - Saturne, pluie d'étoiles, aurores boréales  pour ne citer que quelques phénomènes connus du néophyte que je suis en matière d'astronomie. C'était le 19 août dernier dans les locaux de Chasseurs de Nuit, près de Paris, pour le jury du PNA. J'ai eu la chance d'être convié à ce festin d'images - près de 300 clichés - en provenance d'une quarantaine de pays. C'est dire la richesse de propositions que notre jury a pu admirer, tant du point de vue de la variété des phénomènes célestes que des prouesses techniques en matière de prise de vue ou que du talent créatif des auteurs car oui, la photographie d'astronomie est aussi un art qui se réinvente à l'infini. 

La tâche était donc ardue, et que ce travail de jury est dur ! Difficile de ne pas penser pour chaque cliché écarté de la sélection à la somme de préparation, de temps passé derrière l'appareil photo et devant l'écran de l'ordinateur, à toute cette énergie investie pour produire un cliché original. Je tiens donc à féliciter et à remercier chacun des participants pour cette magnifique production d'image ! Les déçus d'aujourd'hui seront, en persévérant, les gagnants de demain ! Et bravo aux gagnants dont les images et time-lapses ont réussi à séduire un jury où a régné une bonne ambiance détendue et constructive jusqu’à la sélection de finalistes, et qui a décerné les prix par un vote démocratique. Nous avons maintenant rendez-vous le 22 septembre à 19h à la Base Sous-Marine de Bordeaux  pour partager avec vous les plus belles images de cette quatrième édition du Photo NightScape Awards et gâter ses lauréats. Une belle soirée en perspective dont, vous pouvez en être sûrs, vous repartirez avec des étoiles plein les yeux !

                                                                                                                                                                        Guillaume CUVILLIER

                                                                                                                                                                        Nikon Pro, France